Get better by learning from the best!

January 15, 2008

We have been helping companies by developing and implementing successful Internet based strategies for the past 7 years. This is a highly competitive area of the web and “in my humble opinion…” some of the results we’ve helped our clients achieve are quite amazing! We felt our methods were top notch and that we had some of the best processes in place to help our clients understand the web and how to succeed on the Internet.

You notice I am speaking in past tense…

In October I picked up a book called “The New Rules of Marketing & PR.” The minute I cracked the cover I was blown away! I immediately went to Amazon.com and ordered copies for my entire Web PR department and my business partner. This book is required reading for every person in our company who works in our Internet marketing area and quite honestly, should be required reading for every company who is looking to succeed on the Internet.

Over the years I’ve found very few people who actually understand all the components that go into a successful online strategy, and even fewer who can articulate it clearer. Upon further investigation I found this book is the number one web marketing book on the planet which after reading, wasn’t a real surprise.

I am a firm believer that a company can’t ever get to the point where they feel they’ve “arrived” and stop improving. If they do, they’ll certainly die. I am not saying a company needs to continue to grow to be viable, but I AM saying a company that doesn’t constantly thrive to get better, will absolutely lose its’ viability.

With this being said, I am a HUGE proponent of constantly learning new techniques and skills, so we never find our company in this position. Once I finished reading “The New Rules of Marketing and PR” I immediately sought out the author, David Meerman Scott, and began reading his blog in hopes to learn more. I found out he held seminars and was determined to find one I could attend which fit my schedule.

I was successful! I just returned from the Pragmatic Marketing “New Rules of Marketing” seminar in Boston, MA. All I can say is WOW! The book was excellent, but the seminar was amazing!

There is only one way to get better at anything and it is to model the best. I would encourage everyone reading this blog to find the leader in an area in which you strive for excellence, and learn everything you can from them. If you follow this recipe, you are sure to find success!

Pete Brand with David Meerman Scott

3 Responses to “Get better by learning from the best!”

  1. freshspot Says:

    Hey Pete, Wow, I am flattered. I’m thrilled that you’re making use of the stuff I write about and teach. It was great to meet you in person. All the best for your continued success.

    David Meerman Scott


  2. Great! Thank you for your post.


  3. Awesome .. kinda interesting theme. I will blog about it also.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

